Z9X - SMB playback issues while streaming from NAS

Discussion in 'HDD Media player(RTD 1619DR)' started by matty2k, Dec 30, 2020.

1. BigPines

BigPines New Member

Thanks. Yes, I have tried different ports and link aggregation (even though standard gigabit ethernet should be plenty for streaming). Nothing has worked. I even replaced ALL my switches with no change. Really annoying. I have tried running standard MacOS SAMBA as well as a custom install of SAMBA 3 as well as NFS through NFS Manager. Nothing works. Thanks for sharing your SAMBA settings. I'll be curious to see if I can tweak anything in those areas.

Again, all of this should not be necessary. It should just work. I am a video editing professional. I have 278TB of RAID 5 in this system. I can't easily just move to a Raspberry Pi with a single drive and call it a day. Very frustrating.

2. BigPines

BigPines New Member

Yes, I agree. It is probably some strange combination which we have been unable to identify. It seems to happen on high bitrate H.265 video like full UHD rips with HDR / Dolby Vision and Lossless Audio. Sometimes regular BD and BD 3D rips have problems but it is pretty rare. Maybe that is because most of what I watch these days in UHD rips. If I watch low bitrate stuff, it works flawless. I have tried every setting I could think of on the box including every non-network setting in this entire thread. Nothing has worked.

Yes, this is exactly what I do...Full quality rips from UHD using MakeMKV. Nothing fanacy. no re-encoding.

Thanks for the ideas on the Zidoo settings. I will try them all.

I always turn off the Zidoo after watching it and it boots fresh every time. In fact, I tested not shutting it down and the stuttering seems a little worse.