Z9X - SMB playback issues while streaming from NAS

Discussion in 'HDD Media player(RTD 1619DR)' started by matty2k, Dec 30, 2020.

1. B0RN

B0RN Active Member

Are you using Ethernet or Wifi?

2. electrobento

electrobento New Member

Gigabit ethernet.

3. Phil181

Phil181 Active Member

This is not normal behaviour for a wired Gigabit network.
    Suggest checking cables, rebooting server, router and any switches to ensure network is functioning properly.

4. electrobento

electrobento New Member

To preface this, I’m an IT systems engineer.

The network is not the issue. This could possibly be fixed by a Samba configuration change, but thus far it doesn’t seem like anyone in this thread has found the necessary change.

5. Gilgamesh

Gilgamesh Active Member

I haven't had one single issue with playback using unRAID NAS with SMB.

6. Try turning off smb1 and smb2 and use smb3. This worked for me.

7. Netmask

Netmask Well-Known Member

I don’t have any playing problems with my 3000, however your mention of Plex caught my attention. I had it on my QNAP and after a reboot after removing all the apps, including Plex that resided on the QNAP that I had never used, my whole system including my PC is dramatically faster. So now my QNAP is purely a server for my video files.

Phil181 likes this.
  8. Deano86

Deano86 Active Member

Are your problematic files your own rips? Or internet downloads? If your own, what is your ripping program/process?

9. How are you able to get the Z9X use SMB3?
    I force my Synology Nas to SMB3, and the Z9X stopped connecting - it only connects when SMB2 is enabled.

10. electrobento

electrobento New Member

That's interesting, because only SMB1 and SMB3 work on my Z9X Pro. These boxes are certainly very picky about Samba configs.

I was running SMB1 because I had issues with SMB2 and planned to switch over to SMB3 eventually. I've done so and hopefully it works better.