Help setting up a new collection

Discussion in 'General - Guides and FAQ' started by Remco, May 1, 2022.

1. Remco

Remco New Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to the forum. Although I've been reading a lot of very interesting posts here in the past couple of weeks.
    I don't own a Zidoo device yet, but I'm planning to buy one in the near future. Currently, I'm planning to rip my Blu-ray collection to my NAS and I wanted to decide on a media player before I started the work. The problem is I keep thinking in circles as to the format and structure of the collection. Especially since I'm not sure how the Zidoo posterwall/library will handle certain situations. Hopefully some of you can weigh in and help me bite some bullets.

First it might be important to mention, I work as a professional colorist. Generally, there's always a substantial difference between watching the original footage during a color-session, on the Hero monitor in my colorsuite, and when I next see the image. Either during a filmfestival, commercial broadcast or even a blu-ray or DVD. Watching a film on a 4K Blu-ray on my calibrated OLED TV is the closest I've ever come to that color-suite experience. And wacthing cinematic masterpieces this way gives me a lot of pleasure and makes me feel connected with the filmmaker in a way I haven't felt before. Like being there in the room when they finish their films. All this to say, I'm looking to preserve absolutely 100% of the image quality. Even the bit's that "really don't make that big of a difference".

I'm inclined to choose ISO files over ripping to MKV's for a couple of reasons:
    • Easy "never look back" copies.
      • By default all of the assets on the disc are preserved.
      • 1:1 quality be default.
    • Option to burn a physical copy of the disc.
    • Just one file to manage per disc.
    • Filesize and storage are not that important to me.