Controlling the Zidoo player using a tablet

Discussion in 'ZIDOO Z9S' started by mctree, Sep 4, 2023.

1. mctree

mctree New Member

Hi everyone. I'm considering buying a X9S Zidoo player, and I'm trying to understand how the Zidoo Controller APP works.

Long story short, I'm tetraplegic, my hand dexterity is very low, and I've been using a rather old media player for the past 12 years, the ASUS R1. It's a cheap and very simple player, and it served me well, but it's starting to fail, and I need to replace it. But besides that, unfortunately I've been losing more and more physical capabilities, and I'm now unable to hold the remote. So, I need to find a solution. As you can imagine, having to ask someone to put another episode or movie is rather frustrating.

I've been reading about mediaplayers, and the Zidoo players seem perfect for my needs, I'm hoping I can control the player using a tablet. As far as I can see, the GUI is relatively simple, with big buttons. Besides allowing me to choose the files I want to play, from an external HDD, it needs to be easy to put subtitles, allow me to offset the subtitles 200, 400, or 600 milliseconds if necessary, and move the subtitles up and down.

Can someone please say if there's any difference between the app on the X9S and the most recent players, in particular the Z9X? Should I buy a the Z9X instead? Or are both player similar in this regard?

I'm also trying to understand how exactly the Zidoo controller app works, is it through Wi-Fi? Or Bluetooth?

Thanks in advance for all comments and suggestions.

2. mctree

mctree New Member

Can someone please chime in?

3. Netmask

Netmask Well-Known Member

I can’t give you a definitive answer but afaik it’s Wi-Fi. My iPad is on the same network as the Zidoo.

mctree likes this.
  4. Markswift2003

Markswift2003 Well-Known Member SUPER Administrator Beta test group Contributor