Volume control of digital outputs

Discussion in 'Eversolo DMP-A6' started by The Moog, Jan 7, 2024.

1. The Moog

The Moog Member

Just got myself a DMP-A6 now that it supports streaming via from LMS using Squeeze Connect, so I am just learning my way around it. I want to use the analogue outputs to drive a headphone amplifier (which works great), and use the digital coax SPDIF output to drive a pair of active speakers which have their own DACs.

This seems to work and I can get music to play on the speakers, but the volume control of the digital coax doesn’t seem to work very well at all. Instead of having a range of -100dB to 0dB as on the analogue outputs, it has just 16 steps from 0 to 15. The lowest volume setting of ‘1’ ('0' is effectively mute) is very loud and it just gets louder as it goes up to 15. My ~15 year old Squeezebox Touch (which this will hopefully replace) has a much more usable digital volume control that behaves just like an analogue one, starting off very quietly as you would expect and is much more graduated across its range to 100%.

Are there any settings on the DMP-A6 that I am missing here? Why isn’t the digital volume control the same as the analogue volume control with a range of -100dB to 0dB, and can this be improved as it is unusable at the moment?

Cheers!

2. Bergholdt

Bergholdt Well-Known Member

I have active, wireless speakers that have an external hub with remote. I set digital out to volume 15 and then control the volume of the hub/ speakers with the remote.

In your setup, do you have to feed one speaker with optical directly? (And one speaker then ‘talks’ to the other without a remote for volume control?

3. The Moog

The Moog Member

I use the SPDIF coax (not optical) out into the AES/EBU XLR input of one of the speakers, and then this gets passed into the other speaker via an AES/EBU XLR cable.