NUC Streamer Options

Discussion in 'Eversolo' started by Signal to Noise, Feb 2, 2024.

1. Hey folks!

I’m seeking out ideas to switch out my current streaming set up with a solid alternative. I’ve been running ROON ROCK on a bare bones Intel NUC (Core I7, 16 GB DDR4) for a couple of years. I now want to see what else is out there in the audio streaming world. I want to keep the NUC os-less, i.e. no Windows and I’m a complete luddite when it comes to Linux.

I was looking at installing/trying Volumio, JRiver, Daphile, and/or Audirvana (or other recommendation) to the NUC. This will run headless, as ROCK does, and access via an iOS or Android app. I think Volumio can be flashed direct to the SSD in the NUC. JRiver and Daphile could be installed via a pseudo OS called “SnakeOil” which I’m just learning about. Audirvana I think can only be installed on top of Windows or via Mac OS.

ROON has good documentation for NUC but other services, not so much.

Sure I could stick with ROON but the yearly sub is $$, lifetime even more $$$ and questionable longevity considering the Harman Kardon buyout. ROON Certification for the DMP-A8 is taking a long while. I’m willing to spend less money on another streamer software subscription option If needed.

Rest of the system that NUC pulls from and feeds to:

Synology NAS for audio libraries
    Bluesound Nodes
    SONOS
    Eversolo DMP-A8
    Qobuz
    Amazon Music HD

I bought a new 250GB NVME M.2 to test out other streamer installs. I wanted to preserve the current NVME in the NUC with the ROCK installation in case things don’t pan out and can just slap it back in.

Thanks in advance for reading, offering any suggestions and shared experiences!

2. bogdanozaurus

bogdanozaurus Member