How do I authorize my internal and external storage to third party video apps?

Discussion in 'HDD Media player(RTD 1619BPD)' started by Max B, Oct 25, 2023.

1. Max B

Max B New Member

I’m new to media players, to Android and to Zidoo. After a rough couple of days I finally understood how to install Google Play Store on my Zidoo Z20 Pro
    Now I have downloaded a couple of third party video apps (VLC, MX-Player, Kodi etc) I need a third party video player for watching and organizing my extensive home family video library. The Zidoo Home Theater 4.0 is not a good fit for this.

But now when I want to watch the videos all the third party apps says that thet can’t reach the internal or external hard drives.
    Is there a way to authorize it for third party apps like VLC, MX-Player or Kodi?
    I really, really need some help!
    Many thanks for taking the time!

2. jeryll

jeryll New Member

Interesting ... it seems, that more than a one new Zidoo product (launched in 2023) is cursed (or f*cked up, if you please) the same way ... Zidoo did a "good job" this year on releasing unfinished products (don't get me wrong, HW is excellent, but it suffers on SW/FW side big time) ... so can't tell you, how to access internal or external HDD on Z20Pro as I don't have it, but I have Z9XPro (with the exact problem on accessing internal or external drives from 3rd party media player(s)) and here's what I did as workaround, install X-plore file manager, open it and find either /storage/sdcard, or /mnt/sdcard, any external drive will be listed as for example /storage/9E6f-****, open the folder, find the desired media file and launch it (it will open either with default X-plore internal media player, or if you use "open with", it will list available compatible media players installed, and you will choose what to use) - this may or may not be to your taste, but... hope it helps you.