MKV vs ISO

Discussion in 'HDD Media player(RTD 1619BPD)' started by Peacestv, Apr 11, 2024.

1. Peacestv

Peacestv New Member

I am new to the Zidoo player. I have about 450 movies. 2/3rds are UHD.
    They are all in .iso format.

I keep reading in this forum that the preference for many is to have their video files in MKV.
    I do not need the BR Menu

Is there any advantage to me spending the hundreds of hours reformatting my collection to the MKV format?

2. AngryVirginian

AngryVirginian Active Member

Advantages
    - Save storage space by removing audio, subtitles, extras, etc that you don't want
    - Can get to extras without BR menu (if you rip the extras).
    - No BR menu
    - Compatibility other media solutions that don't support ISO / BDMV such as Plex

Disadvantages
    - Loses DV FEL compatibility when playing on jailbroken Oppo & the clones
    - Java based extras such as games, maps, some slide shows won't rip to MKV

3. Markswift2003

Markswift2003 Well-Known Member SUPER Administrator Beta test group Contributor

Advantages
    - Saves you having your life force sucked from you while trying to comprehend why some imbecile could possibly write such a horrific piece of BD Java.

Disadvantages
    - None

YMMV ;)

RDS - Z9X Pro, Netmask and xskip like this.
  4. Mikis

Mikis Member

Either I am looking for how convert good many ISO files on MKV, have you any ideas that the software is BEST?

Make MKV I'm tested and cannot change order streams and set default stream for audio and subtitles.

5. Michael Wright

Michael Wright New Member

MakeMKV.exe bar none.

6. Netmask

Netmask Well-Known Member

Using mkvtoolnix after you have made the mkv you can change the order, remove items not required etc. If you use the Header Editor you can set defaults without having to remux, make the change and save

7. nmfrankl

nmfrankl New Member