Apple Music: Integration Using MusicKit / Apple Music API

Discussion in 'Eversolo DMP-A6' started by ammar11, Jun 24, 2023.

1. ammar11

ammar11 Well-Known Member

Hi Zidoo/EverSolo Wizards,

It was my thought that no other manufacturers have Apple Music with full API integration. But in my video someone commented that the only one that has done it is Sonos.

I'm not a developer, not even in the field so maybe I really have no clue what this is about, but it had me curious, if Sonos can do it, why not everyone else?

I've found there's something called MusicKit that seems like tool to achieve similar goal? Very likely you're already aware but I thought it's worth a discussion.

MusicKit

upload_2023-6-24_8-20-11.png

MusicKit for Android lets you build native Apple Music features into your Android app. Libraries are available to let users sign in to their Apple Music account and play music directly from your app.

Download the MusicKit SDK for Android

Authentication for Apple Music. The Authentication library provides a way to get access tokens to play music or make calls to the MusicKit Web APIs. This library prompts the user to sign in to Apple Music and, if Apple Music isn’t installed on the device, helps the user download it before returning to your app.

Learn more about authentication on Android

Media Playback for Apple Music. The Media Playback library can be used to play songs, albums, and playlists on Apple Music without leaving your app. Your app can also control music playback from the Lock screen or the background.

upload_2023-6-24_8-21-6.png

Apple Music API

upload_2023-6-24_8-26-13.png