Zidoo Z1000 Pro - Trying to Expand Network Storage

Discussion in 'HDD Media player(RTD 1619DR)' started by rozel, Feb 14, 2023.

1. rozel

rozel Well-Known Member

I have a Yottamaster 4 disk RAID Array which I've been using as expansion for my PC. This is no longer necessary so I have been experimenting and researching ways I could use it on my Network, to expand storage for my music / films using my Zidoo.

My Media Player is in a different room to my PC and NASs but the rooms are ethernet connected. Attaching it direct to the Zidoo will be a last resort as I've run out of space for it and it's too large to house in the HiFi cabinet.

My Zidoo plays extremely well via an old ReadyNas RN104 so I initially tried connecting the Yottamaster to the NAS via USB. All went well but when I tried copying files using my PC on the Network the copying bombed out. I've been told via the Nas's forum that connecting a RAID setup this way is always going to be prone to issues.

Then I wondered about a USB Device Server but never had experience with these and I'm thinking they are only good for Scanners and Printers.

I wonder if anyone has a better solution I could consider? Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Feb 14, 2023
  2. Cary Grant

Cary Grant New Member

I have a similar setup, Netgear 104's, 204's and Icybox and Yottamaster addon USB raid boxes (DAS) and have some issues when copying. The main issue seems to be "network traffic" related if copying across a large amount of files the process seems to choke probably across the usb interface . However when the copying stops with the "network error..." message I tick the box that says "try again" and the copying continues, If there are more errors do the same thing, then at the end the message comes up with "there are files already in this location do you wish to overwrite these" (or similar, these are the files that failed) select "yes" and the files are copied over again. "Rinse, repeat as necessary