Access from Windows PC to the usb disk

Discussion in 'ZIDOO X9S' started by c3po, Mar 14, 2018.

1. c3po

c3po New Member

Hello,
    from time to time I want to copy some files to the USB harddisk which is connected to my Zidoo X9S. Is this possible over a network connect? For example a SMB share in the X9S with access from my PC. I don't want to remove the USB harddisk from the x9s and connect it to my PC.
    I am a newbie with the X9S and don't have any knowledge about it.

2. Sarco

Sarco Active Member Beta test group

Go to android setting, select "more" then "Openwrt Settings" and activate "Samba Server". Restart your device, now you should be able to access X9S via network from PC.

3. JohnS

JohnS Member

You have to enable smb shares from openwrt. Go to http://zidooip/cgi-bin/luci (its the openwrt GUI) enable samba shares (as in photo) and then in your windows you will see your usb drive and have access to it

Attached Files:

floydo likes this.
  4. c3po

c3po New Member

Thank you for your reply. Now I can see openwrt in my windows explorer and my usb harddisk. But when I try to open the disk I must input a user and a password. When I try root and my password for root I get the messages "access denied". In the samba settings I have allowed root for the access.

Attached Files:

5. JohnS

JohnS Member

Have you tried login as guest? I'm using a guest account and have no problems. I configured like in pictures

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 15, 2018
  6. c3po

c3po New Member

I have tried now with guest, but Windows wants a password. I have tried "guest" or empty password, same as before "access denied". I don't have found any settings to change the password for the user guest. Has the user guest a password?

7. JohnS

JohnS Member

No guest has no password

8. JohnS

JohnS Member

Configure as I did

9. c3po

c3po New Member

Thank you JohnS, now it works. I have configured it like you (remove root from allowed user).

10. JohnS

JohnS Member