Total Noob Questions

Discussion in 'HDD Media player(RTD 1619DR)' started by Anthony Spinella, Oct 20, 2022.

1. Anthony Spinella

Anthony Spinella New Member

Brand new to the forum and Zidoo. I have been on and off reading those these products for a few months and I’m close to pulling the trigger on either the Z9x or Z10 pro.

I use Plex currently on my Xbox series x and overall I’m happy with it, but having a fairly high end (at least to me it is) home theater set up and being a huge A/V nerd I want to watch my movies in the highest quality possible. Since Plex doesn’t support bdmv or blu ray raw formats I started to see what other options were out there and I discovered Zidoo.

I’m sure these have been discussed before so my apologies for any repeats.

Brief overview of my set up 77” LG C9 (may upgrade to 77 or 83 G2. Denon 4500, SVS ultra towers and center, SVS pb4000, SVS prime satellite (x4) and 4 Polk audio ceiling speakers for Atmos. 2 of the Polk audio are pre amped and my LCR are pre amped with an Emotiva xpa 3 gen 3

My question starts with

1. is the Z10 pro that much of a better device? I saw some conflicting info regarding RAM some said the z10 pro has 4gb is that accurate?
    2. I would like to attach a hard drive preferably internal(less clutter) if my unit is connected via Ethernet can I tell my iMac to download files to that drive?
    3. I won’t be having a huge library but is it more beneficial to use SSD vs HDD? My plan is any movie I download I want to be in blu ray raw or bdmv
    4. Will these bdmv files be as comparable to an actual 4K blu ray disc? I’d like to avoid and compressed audio or downgrades in picture/audio quality.
    5. I see all devices are HDMI 2.0 will that hinder my in the future knowing all the benefits of HDMI 2.1

I think thats everything for now..thanks in advance for any and all advice

2. Temearoo

Temearoo Active Member

1. Z10 Pro has 2GB of DDR4