VS10 incorrect black levels when in SDR or HDR

Discussion in 'HDD Media player(RTD 1619DR)' started by mattmarsden, Jan 19, 2021.

1. burton

burton Member

Thanks Oliver,
    (less work for Mark ;) )

rozel likes this.
  2. Goliath

Goliath New Member

Hi there, sorry to be a complete noob here but is the issue described in this thread the same issue a Youtuber reported (Spare Change) in his review of the z9x where it shows the black levels looking greyish when taking a screen grab compared to the same movie scene on his Panasonic Ultra HD player?

I was so close to pulling the trigger on the unit until I saw the before/after shot compared to the Ultra HD player. It's not subtle. I'm really hoping there will be a fix for this as I want to experience the content at least on par with the disc player.

3. Markswift2003

Markswift2003 Well-Known Member SUPER Administrator Beta test group Contributor

No, absolutely not. This player has image quality on a par with, if not better than any UHD BluRay player. Under normal circumstances the luminance levels and clipping are spot on.

This problem is very specific to users of either SDR only TVs, and to a certain extent, HDR only TVs only when using the VS10 engine and then only in specific circumstances dependent on EDID and the TV's performance in relation to HDMI levels.

I haven't seen said YouTuber's "review" but from what you say I'd be very confident in saying he hasn't the slightest clue of what he's talking about.

*edit*

Yeah - just watched that review.

I was right.

Last edited: Sep 25, 2021
    vddan, Goliath and muha like this.
  4. Michael Ching

Michael Ching New Member