ZDMC / KODI questions

Discussion in 'ZIDOO X6 Pro' started by neamielu, May 15, 2016.

1. neamielu

neamielu Member

I'm quite new to kodi / zdmc, and as any new user I found some annoyances I cannot pass, so let's share a bit of experience for community's benefit.

1. As many others, I have a personal collection of movies originating from torrent trackers, which are named as *per scene* requests, i.e. "Cry.of.the.Banshee.1970.THEATRiCAL.BDRip.x264-VoMiT". The same for TV series, with the usual S01E01.

Now, the problem. When it comes to adding video sources to kodi library, none of the movies containing dots in their name is added.

It would be a tremendous and useless work to rename a personal library with spaces instead of dots...

Is true, I can still access any of the movies using the folder mode to explore the sources, but this is no more kodi experience with all facilities and useful info. In this case why use kodi and not just an explorer and any other player?

So, the first question: is there any kodi setting or addon to improve the library function? - i.e. to add files as named by this per scene request, meaning with dots between words instead of spaces? I did a bit of research on this, with no luck.

2. cyber7

cyber7 Active Member Beta test group

Welcome
    Welcome beanuelu

Let me start by helping you with movies:
    • Every movie should be in a separate directory (with the movie's name).
    • Dots "should" be ignored by KODI when scanning, so that will not be a problem.
    • There is a VERY easy way to rename all your directories/files. From a WINDOWS machine download and run Bulk Rename Utility - (It is free) and rename by replacing all the "." with " ".
    • Remember to enable KODI to check for new files on restart, or use a KODI plugin called "Watchdog" (under KODI's Addons/Services)
    I will start a QUICK KODI REFERENCE FOR FIRST TIMERS and post some more tips...

3. neamielu

neamielu Member