My findings with the Zidoo X20

Discussion in 'ZIDOO X20' started by sussexmat, Nov 24, 2018.

1. sussexmat

sussexmat New Member

First of all, it’s an absolute World apart from the Egreat A10 I tried (I almost threw the Egreat in the bin, in disgust).

The X20 seems very robust all round. Not only physically, but operationally. Playback picture quality is matching my Oppo 203 on a 55” LG UHD, which is what I wanted. As, although the Oppo is excellent, it can’t Shortcut Network Folders to a Fav Screen, only USB Drives. Plus, the Oppo does not play ISOs. Strange that, when it plays real discs.

I’ve installed ZDMC 16.1.1 purely for Music Play, as I like the feature of being able to Queue Folders on the fly.

The negatives:

. I realise I have invalidated the warranty by doing this, but no matter what HDD, formatted as EXT3 or NTFS, the left hand HDD bay, would not mount drives, but they were spinning up, so obviously were powered. Being an Engineer, my brain cannot cope with knowing there’s a fault and need to find out if there’s anything obvious. My gut feeling was that the Data Sata cable was disconnected. I de-powered the player and removed the top cover, to find the Data Sata plug just resting on the Main Board socket and not plugged in. Plugged it in, powered up and perfect. It doesn’t look as though all units are factory tested. So I’m a little disappointed with Zidoo there.

. ISO play is good except with a couple I have, that have Forced Subtitles, the Forced Subtitles are not displayed unless I go to the Main Menu first and select Language English (Language, rather than Subs), then it works OK. My old Dune HD Smart D1 always works, without doing that.

. No Auto Aspect. Yes, some of us do have some old 4:3 Films of the 50’s and 60’s. So a bit annoying to have to Select Fit every time. The Dune and the Oppo win there.

Overall, though, I’m very pleased with the X20 and has become my first 'Port of Call' for Playback.

gymnos, skelton and DELUCAS like this.