doesn't recognice hard drive 4tb

Discussion in 'ZIDOO X9S' started by hoplitas, Oct 16, 2017.

1. hoplitas

hoplitas New Member

Ok, now I get the HDD working so...
    I'm not an expert but I think its a problem of power, I just get the HDD to be recognized by Zidoo with a hard drive docking station, HDD was recognized, so I tried again with SATA connection with the same HDD and again no way.
    I'm almost sure (I repeat, not an expert) via SATA the HDD has not enough power to be recognized by Zidoo (4tb and 2tb should need the same amount of "energy" but who knows...) , the HDD start to spin and you can hear it buzzing but not with enough "volume", its like a little buzzing, instead if you connect it via Docking station the buzzing is louder and appears in Zidoo explorer, ZDMZ, etc....
    So I'm happy because at least I can use both HDD 4tb, but sad because I have to use an external docking station, I prefer SATA connection because I suppose its faster but sometimes its the way it is.
    Thanks and maybe some expert can check the SATA connection with an ammeter o whatever, or maybe in future firmwares send more electric power via SATA, anyway thanks.

2. HaoSs

HaoSs Well-Known Member

it may be that the sata port or cable is not performing as intended, i also have a X10 that uses the same x9s board and has the sata connector inside, work's fine with my hdd , i will test when i have time my x9s with the 4 TB and external sata cable, but i'm 99,9% sure it will work the same

3. hoplitas

hoplitas New Member

Yeah, I use the SATA cable Zidoo provided, maybe I´ll buy one and try again, are cheap cables so...
    Thanks again.

4. Nice Monkey

Nice Monkey Well-Known Member Beta test group

The supplied cable should work just fine. You may need to reformat the drive. SATA deployment is far more critical than USB for some minor variables.